Legal Question in Family Law in Connecticut

MAIN QUESTION: Does filing for bankruptcy discharge a non-custodial parent from making educational payments that were ordered by a divorce decree in Connecticut?

Scenario: Two divorced parents are paying a yearly parental contribution, in equal parts, for their daughter who is a junior in college. The father earns his income from a small business and is planning to file for bankruptcy. Does this mean he will not be obligated to pay his half of the parental contribution due to lack of funds, even though he is required to do so by law as per divorce decree?

Asked on 8/05/13, 6:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Heffernan Heffernan Legal Group, LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It depends on the language in the separation agreement/decree. If the college expenses are considered "family support", they are not dischargeable.

Read more
8/06/13, 6:45 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Connecticut

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88222 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now