Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Connecticut

I'm looking at possibly purchasing a parcel of woodlands in Connecticut that is land locked. There is an access road (gravel and dirt) that extends up to the parcel next to the one I'm looking at. I asked the seller if he has ever been on the land and he said "no, since it is a private road no-one can access the property until they seek an easement". I think he is incorrect. My research suggests "private roads" ARE open to the public and to automobile traffic... subject to the terrain. They are "private" only in that the town does not maintain them. Who is correct for my state of Conneticut?

Asked on 5/24/13, 10:28 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Linda Subbloie Linda A. Subbloie, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I have never heard of a private road being "public" subject to terrain. I would think you need to get an easement.

Read more
5/28/13, 11:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Connecticut

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now