District of Columbia | Construction Law
Legal Question
home improvement in washington, dc
We have completed 50% of one project and 100% of another small project at the same residence. We have only been paid for the smaller project. We have requested our initial deposit and 50% installment on the larger project, but customer has not paid. We requested money twice before discontinuing services until paid. We have made several attempts to communicate with our customer, but she does not communicate with us. We have now requested payment 3 times since the week of March 5, and to date we have still not been paid. If she pays what is owed now, we know the payment problem will occur again at the end of the project, and we will probably not be paid (especially since she has champagne taste and a beer pocketbook-as they say). How can we get paid for portion of work already completed, and terminate our contract for the balance of work?


