District of Columbia  |  Family Law

question bubble
11/08/09, 5:05 pm

Legal Question


My son is going through a divorce. In a drug induced state (before entering rehab a year ago) he told his wife he wanted to give the house to her and his daughter. He signed the paperwork for the transferring of the deed, but the notary was not available and it was notarized the next day without my son's presence. His wife is a lawyer and had it done by the notorary in her firm. After 6 weeks in treatment, he realized he made a;mistake and wants to get his name back on the the deed. It should be noted that he is still on the mortgage and contributing 50% to that. Is this deed legal and how can we get his name back on it?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search