District of Columbia  |  Real Estate Law

question bubble
3/23/09, 7:23 pm

Legal Question


real estate law--landlord wants to move back in

My landlord wants to move back into the condo we are renting from him, to take advantage of favorable refinance rates and because his work is moving back to DC where we live. Our original lease ends July 31st and I want to be out as soon as May 1st because I don't want to move over the summer (my roommate is a law student, would have to come back to dc to help me move if we do it after he leaves DC May 15th). The landlord has suggested June 1st as a compromise or having us stay until the end of the lease. But we had agreed to move out early back in January because of his desire to move back in and refinance. Can we leave on May 1st and expect no penalties because he is the one who initiated breaking the lease (we have it in writing--emails) and we had agreed to move out early (but just do not agree on the date)?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search