Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

Do I have any recourse if the university I'm attending has refused to let me continue my education, because of an "over-awarded" amount from a previous student loan I've been repaying for 5 years now? The school never researched my financial aid eligibility when I enrolled last year, and now, I'm financially strapped for cash, and I can't get any loans without paying an astronomically high interest rate. They won't work with me in order to continue and have basically told me it's my problem. I did get confirmation from an employee in the financial aid dept who confirmed that they did "screw up" by not verifying. Doesn't that constitute gross negligence?

Asked on 8/18/09, 3:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sarah Grosse Sarah Grosse, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. An oversight in this context does not constitute gross negligence.

Read more
8/18/09, 8:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now