Florida | Criminal Law
8/10/09, 4:15 pm
Legal Question
What is an arraignment and does a person need an attorney to go with him for this?
What is an arraignment and does a person need an attorney to go with him for this?
|
Read More Answered By: David Kotler |
An arraignment is a persons first appearance when they are informed if formal charges are being filed, and if so what charges are being filed. In turn, it is generally when a person pleads guilty, no contest, or not guilty. It is generally a good idea to consult counsel prior to arraignment. It may be that the case can be resolved at arraignment with counsel or that counsel will file a written plea of not guilty and the arraignment will be waived, thus no appearance in person would be necessary. |
|
Read More Answered By: Leland Garvin |
I see that the previous attorney may have answered your question. There is not much that I can add to that however I would reinforce the point about hiring an attorney prior to the arraignment. The earlier that an attorney is handling the case the better, he/she will have more time and opportunities to do things that would benefit you.
If you would like to speak further, I have an office in Fort Myers and would be glad to speak you at no charge.
feel free to give me a ring at 888.524.2426 |
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
St Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 2075
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
Fort Myers, FL
Questions Answered: 492
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-28
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 426
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Kissimmee, FL
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 360
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-04-07
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 357
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
► I had sent this question previously the attorney answered "there was no...
► What does capias misd theft to deprive mean? What is usual punishment?
► My son recently went into publix and open a hair gel bottle and put some on his hand...
► If someone presses charges or files a report on a simple fight no injuries , can...
► It has been 30+ months since arrest and 15 months since indicted. first offer 10...
► I just got arrested last night for shop liffting (petty thefr) and I am in a drug...
► Can a prosecuter bring up charges from another county if the defendent has not been...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in Florida| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press