when someone is arrested, is there a time limit in which they can be arraigned on the charges in the State of Florida.
2 Answers from Attorneys
There's nothing that governs the timing of an Arraignment per se, but you do have the right to a speedy trial. In the case of a misdemeanor, the State must bring the case to trial within ninety (90) days from the date of the arrest and for a felony, they have one hundred seventy five (175) days from the date of the arrest. In the event this period of time lapses between the arrest date and the filing of an Information or Indictment, the accused may filed a Notice of Discharge, directing the court to dismiss the case. For more information, please see my website at www.CarstenandLadan.com or simply all my office and I'd be glad to be of assistance.
Once arrested they are bound by the speedy trial rules, which is 90 days for a misdemeanor and 175 days for a felony. If no formal charges are filed within that time period then it is possible to get it completely dismissed. I practice in your area if you wish to give me a call.
Related Questions & Answers
Can a person who was arrested for domestic violence press charges on the victim... Asked 5/11/12, 7:19 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
I live in pa, my brother lives in fl but is in prison there. i applied for a job and... Asked 5/10/12, 9:17 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
Ok me and my boyfriend got into a fight and the neighbors called the law and i was... Asked 5/10/12, 6:34 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
My boyfriend ran away two nights ago. He brought a bb gun for protection. He was in... Asked 5/10/12, 3:31 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
If I'm a passenger in a car do I have to answer any questions Asked 5/10/12, 12:09 am in United States Florida Criminal Law