Florida | Discrimination Law
Legal Question
I am 16 year old and my boyfriend is 18. Is our relationship legal? We are really worried about this. Please, write back fast. We are desperate.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
In FL, your relationship is legal. Under FL law, it is not a crime for a person under age 24 to have a consentual sexual relationship with a 16 or 17 year old. If you were under 16, it would be a major problem. See FL Statutes 794.05 (sexual activity with minors) and 800.04 (lewd and lascivious behavior with minors under 16). Statutes can be found at www.leg.state.fl.us.
Be aware that the law on this varies by state, and in many states you must be 18 to consent. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Kelly James Henderson, P.A.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Questions Answered: 543
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-02
Michael D. Stewart
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 495
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-07-02
The Sheldon Law Firm
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 475
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-19
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
Samuel A. Mutch, P.A.
Gainesville, FL
Questions Answered: 50
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-08
Bonifield, Friedman & Leifer, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 48
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-20
Search Questions and Answers


