Florida | Elder Law
Legal Question
Abuse of power: power of attorney
Brother and sister have equal power of attorney for ''mom''. The sister is opening credit, phone, cable, bank loans without ''moms'' knowledge or mine. Spending and overdrawing ''moms'' account. What can I do to stop her?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Scott R. Jay |
Re: Abuse of power: power of attorney NOTE: This communication is not intended as and should not be interpreted as legal advice. Rather, it is intended solely as a general discussion of legal principles. You should not rely on or take action based on this communication without first presenting ALL relevant details to a competent attorney in your jurisdiction and then receiving the attorney's individualized advice for you. By reading the "Response" to your question or comment, you agree that the opinion expressed is not intended to, nor does it, create any attorney-client relationship, nor does it constitute legal advice to any person reviewing such information, nor will it be considered an attorney-client privileged communication. If you do not agree, then stop right here, and do not read any further.
You should file for a Guardianship over mom if she is unable to take the necessary action on her own to protect her interests. Ask the court to appoint you the guardian over mom and her assets.
Scott R. Jay, Esq. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Offices of Scott R. Jay
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 4031
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-19
Lucreita D. Becude, P.A.
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 2849
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Labovitz Law Firm, P.A.
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Robert Brian Roemer LLC
Palm Beach Gardens,
Questions Answered: 760
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Probate Attorney Throughout Florida
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 586
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-03
Sanford M. Martin, P.A.
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Martin Law Office
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
Stoffels Law Group
St. Petersburg, FL
Questions Answered: 256
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-09
Search Questions and Answers


