My mother is in a nursing home on medicaid. The nursing home is requiring me to pay an additional $300 per month. Can they do that? Is that is violation of medicaid law?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Well, you are not required to pay, but medicaid may only cover a portion of what the nursing home charges. If you want your mother to stay where she is and receive the level of care that she does receive, you may need to pay something additional. All the nursing homes have people there that are familiar with the regulations, so I would sit down with them and discuss what is and is not available. Medicaid is not free health care.
Related Questions & Answers
My mother is senile and is being taken care of by one of my sisters, Maureen, who is... Asked 12/03/09, 9:24 am in United States Florida Elder Law
If you are living in Florida, own a 'park model' home and have a motor home sited in... Asked 11/27/09, 1:27 pm in United States Florida Elder Law
My sister has used my mothers credit card and also gotten cards in my mothers name.... Asked 11/22/09, 2:41 pm in United States Florida Elder Law
I'm 44 years old and currently living with my mother who has congestive heart... Asked 10/21/09, 12:18 pm in United States Florida Elder Law
My older brother lives in FLorida by himself and has become mentally incompetent to... Asked 10/20/09, 1:23 pm in United States Florida Elder Law