Florida  |  Medical Leave

question bubble
6/06/01, 8:48 am

Legal Question


Maternity Leave

I work in a company with less then 50 employees. They allow 6-8 weeks maternity leave, without pay. Prior to announcing my pregnancy I was told I would be getting a private office in the new building which we are moving to. After announcing my pregnancy, I was told I was not getting the office due to my ''upcoming circumstances''. When I questioned that I was told it was because I would be out 8 weeks. I explained I should not be penalized or punished due to my pregnancy. I was under the assumption a company could not alter a position or take anything away from the employee because of pregnancy. Because the company has less then 50 employees, are they allowed to take my ''office space'' away from me?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search