Legal Question in Employment Law in Florida

If an employee is promoted up to another job description (level) at a certain rate of pay, and the employee does not meet the job requirements for that position; can the employer demote that employee down to their original position and reduce their rate of pay?

Asked on 8/15/09, 11:40 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sarah Grosse Sarah Grosse, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, unless there is an employment contract which prohibits it or requires some disciplinary procedure before doing so.

Read more
8/15/09, 1:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Florida

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now