Florida | Employment Law
Legal Question
Why won't you give me my last paycheck?
I recently quit my job as an alarm installer on a day that alarm systems were to be installed. My (former) employer is withholding my final paycheck as a result. I don't know if it makes a difference, but i was an employee not a contractor. The position was a paid-by-piecework and not commission. His position is that he will not pay until the install that was rescheduled is installed. When I told him that what he was doing is illegal, his response was, ''so lock me up.'' He owes me for several installs up to this point. What is the remedy for securing payment on my labor that has already been performed?


