Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
11/14/09, 10:03 am

Legal Question


I hired a lawyer for Civil Service Board Hearing. Problem is he did not show up to the hearing instead he sent a new attorney he had just hired a month ago. This was her first case and she no idea what to do. She did not provide any documentaion and proof of evidence to the board members. I had two pieces of key evidence and one of them she did not even bring to the hearing. When I asked her where it was she stated I don't know. She even forgot to have me down on the witness list to testify. Although she asked if I wanted to testify I replied what do you think is best then she replied I don't know instead of just saying yes you need to testify. At the end of the hearing the board members stated that they had nothing to go by because she did not provide any documentaion of proof, although I had turned these things into their office several months prior to the hearing. Now the attorney say's its my fault because I did not testify, but should'nt he have assured that she had proper documentationand proof, with it being her first time. Why would he send someone that is unfamiliar with civil service boards when he should have been thereto make sure she knew what to do? She was very confused and unprepaired and did not present anything I had given her to the board prior to the start. When I first spoke to this attorney he hounded me for the business calling me on my cell phone calling on the weekend etc. I recently just learned that his license was suspended last year for some shady doings "signing false contracts". I'm in the process of finding a new appeal attorney one that focuses in employment law. Keep in mind that I did ask this attorney if he's had experience with civil service boards and he stated yes, but obviously not. Is it possible to sue this idiot for false representation since he did not show up and sent an inexperienced attorney instead. I have contacted the Florida Bar because there is no way I'm going to finish paying this man for not even showing up and sending a rookie who could not even present any documentation or proof. Needles to say the General Counsel ate her alive very weak opening and closing statement. After closing arguments, the board is explaining that if they had just a little documentation or proof to go by things would have been different then she says can he testify now, good grief ! even I knew not to say that. Also do you think this guy wanted her to screwup so that he can drag this thing out for more money.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search