Florida  |  Employment Law

question bubble
10/11/01, 9:57 am

Legal Question


Overlooked for Promotion

Hello and Good Morning

In my recent review (June 2001), I was told by my

supervisor that the only chance I had for

promotion within the department was if she (my

supervisor) resigned. After her resignation

(September 2001), the company proceeded to

hire from outside the company. The job opening

was never posted.

When I asked the department head as to why I

wasn't considered for the position, he stated that

they needed someone with previous

management experience. I then pointed out that

my resume on file indicates that I have the

required experience. He said he never looked at

my resume, and was unaware of that experience.

He said there is nothing he can do now, since the

new hire has already started.

What, if any, is my recourse? The company claims

to be an ''Equal Opportunity Employer,'' and

openings in other departments are often emailed

to the pertinent location.

Thank you, in advance, for your help.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search