Florida  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/13/13, 12:03 pm

H I moved into an apart in September of 2012 to help an old friend out with rent because her previous roommate had moved out. So it was convenient at the time and moved in to help her with the bills. The apartment was not in her name nor mine of course instead it belonged to her brothers girlfriend who lived elsewhere. I only loved there for 6 months until I got my own place because we had gotten into a physical altercation over some money that she had stolen from me. So she put me out April 30 when we had already discussed and agreed I would be out of the apartment on April 1st and I had no where to go nor put my things so to get even I I took my fiberglass hammer and put holes in the walls(about 6of them) and now she's trying to get the owner of the apartment to sue me when neither of our names were on the lease and there was no signed legally binding contract. Can't the owner be fined for illegally subletting the apartment. I've new getting harassing phone calls and texts and she's even been putting up my photos on social networking sites. Can I sue for slandering/harassment?

1 Answer


Answered on: 5/13/13, 1:10 pm by Barry Stein

Suing is a costly venture. You wont be able to collect that back from her either. I would block her phone number and email so the calls and texts will end. You can sue for slander or harassment if the facts warrant it, but I would be seeking legal counsel with all your facts available. I would stop writing the facts about your event on website like this and keep them private. The owner of the apartment is not likely to due you for anything. The sublet appears to have been by the real tenant whoever that is and there is not way to know if it is against the contract without reviewing it. There is no law that prevents subletting of partments so it is not illegal.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


De Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & Zachary 25 SE 2nd Avenue Suite 425 Miami, FL 33131

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search