Florida | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
If a 15 year old girl just had a baby with a 25 year old man, how can he get in trouble, and how will the girls parents get in trouble?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sarah Grosse |
Big, big trouble. FL law prohibits any kind of sexual contact (touching, not just intercourse) with a child under the age of 16, and the child has no ability to consent to such contact. In FL, a 16 or 17 year old person may consent to sex with a person under the age of 24, but that obviously doesn't apply here.
The crimes the man committed are felonies - lewd and lacivious battery, molestation, and conduct (F.S. Ch 800, 800.04); sexual battery (F.S. Ch 794, 794.05). All sex offenses, all felonies. Big jail time involved. Lifetime sex offender registration.
The girl's parents should report the man to the police for having this relationship with their daughter. If not, any person should report it to the police - the grandparents, school teacher, next door neighbor, anyone. If the parents have allowed this relationship, they could be subject to charges for child abuse, child neglect, and/or contributing to the delinquency of a minor (though I am less familiar with those laws).
You can email me if you need help figuring out what to do. |
Top Attorneys in FL
Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A.
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 6347
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-12
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Behren Law Firm
Weston, FL
Questions Answered: 768
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Kelly James Henderson, P.A.
Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Questions Answered: 543
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-03-02
The Sheldon Law Firm
Tampa, FL
Questions Answered: 475
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-08-19
Law Offices of Steven Meyer
Boca Raton, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
Law Offices of Stuart M. Address, P.A.
Stuart, FL
Questions Answered: 397
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-28
Corporate Transactions, LLC (A Private Law Firm)
Miami Beach, FL
Questions Answered: 243
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-25
Law Office of Gordon T. Nicol
Jacksonville, FL
Questions Answered: 138
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-26
SealMyRecord.Com
Miami, FL
Questions Answered: 112
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-23
Search Questions and Answers


