Florida | Workers Comp
Legal Question
personal injury/workman's comp
My husband had a spinal fusion performed in Dec of '06 as a result of a work injury. Workman's comp was paying lost wages and we were fine with that. While in the surgeon's office one day, his receptionist asked who my husband's attorney was. He said he didn't have one. She suggested an attorney who also ''happened to be a personal friend'' of the surgeon. My husband retained this attorney. As his back pain was not alleviated by the surgery, we exhausted every opportunity with workman's comp. The surgeon kept saying everything was fine with the CT scan and he didn't know why my husband was in pain. He ordered an mri that the insurance company never gave us despite my asking our attorney several times why we never got the mri. I had finally had enough sleepless nights with my husband trying to find anywhere to get comfortable and took him to our own physician who scheduled a myelogram. According to our personal doctor, the myelogram reveals that the fusion never took and that's why my husband is in so much pain. Do we now take this information back to our attorney and tell him that his close, personal friend, the surgeon, screwed up? Doesn't attorney/client privilege preclude him from devulging that info to the surgeon?


