My brother accuser of child molestation has been telling people that he did not molest her that her father did, but her mother told her to say my brother molested her and now she wants to tell the truth, but is afraid of what will happen to her if she confess to her mother having her to say he did. What are her consequences if she confess.
2 Answers from Attorneys
People accused of serious crimes and facing prison (and unpleasant consequences there) need the best lawyer they can find. Others involved need to stop posting details on the internet for all the world to see.
As the accuser is a child, there should be no consequences if she tells the truth now. Unlike an adult accusing someone of a crime, children are not routinely charged with perjury as they are less likely to have some type of malicious motive. If the accuser is looking to change her story, your brother needs to have his attorney act on this asap. He cannot contact the accuser himself because of bond conditions, but an attorney can find a way to get her statement to use to have the charges dismissed or for use at trial to impeach her.
The answer to this questions is informational only, and it is not intended to be legal advise. Only an attorney who has met with you and gone over all of the specific facts of your case can give you legal advice upon which you should rely. Follow up questions are welcome via the email below, and our firm offers free consultations via phone or in person. We have convenient offices in Winder, Jefferson, and Gainesville Georgia, and you should feel free to contact our office at (770) 307-4899, via email at [email protected], or through our website: hicksmasseyandgardner.com.
Related Questions & Answers
This is my first offense I was charged with a misdemeanor of theft of lost or... Asked 9/05/13, 7:37 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
Got a DUI on a golf cart,in a gated community...how to find out if it is a... Asked 9/03/13, 6:53 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I am in Georgia and I was arrested by accussation,over a year ago, on a Grand Theft... Asked 9/02/13, 5:11 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
Can a 20 year old date a 17 year old in the state of georgia? Asked 8/31/13, 4:06 pm in United States Georgia Criminal Law
I was arrested and charged for a crime I didn't commit.. my lawyer says I can go to... Asked 8/30/13, 11:49 am in United States Georgia Criminal Law