Georgia  |  Family Law

question bubble
8/07/01, 2:23 pm

Legal Question


Legitimation and Visitation Rights

Illegitimate child was born in Virginia. Father acknowledges paternity (through father's name on birth certificate and court paternity papers that was signed when he attended court for child support). Mother and son now resides in Hancock County, GA. Father resides in Prince Georges Country, MD. Father has fallen behind on child support, but is now paying regularly through court. Mother refuses to allow father to bring child to MD for summer visits. At one point, mother openly told father that she had to ''ask'' her live in boyfriend out of respect if the father could visit his own child. Father is now going to pursue court ordered visitation rights, but must first legitimate son. Can the legitimation and visitation rights request be combined on one court filing for Hancock County, Georgia or must they be filed separately. Father intends to represent himself in court.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search