Legal Question in Employment Law in Georgia

I am a part time employee who receives no benefits other than my hourly wage. If I inform my employer that I will be unavailable well in advance of being scheduled, can my employer still schedule me and then punish me for missing work?

Asked on 9/23/13, 8:31 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Sure, an employer can terminate an employee who is unavailable when needed. It is the employer, not the employee, who runs the business and dictates the schedule.

Read more
9/23/13, 8:33 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8784 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now