Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Georgia

I have a 21 year old tenant living in my basement apartment. His mother has consistently paid the rent. It is on a tenancy-at-will basis. I have presented him the papers seeking to have him evicted 59 days ago and e-mailed them to his mother as an FYI. She acknowledged receipt of it.

When I file with the court for a hearing, is he the sole tenant or is she, or both?

Asked on 8/04/13, 1:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glenn M. Lyon, Esq. MacGREGOR LYON, LLC, Business Attorneys
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The person actually residing in the apartment is the tenant (unless you agreed otherwise). Simply paying rent for someone does not make them a tenant.

Read more
Answered on 8/05/13, 5:06 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now