Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Georgia

I rent a room in a house where the landlord resides as well. I am already planning on moving, but the landlord keeps trespassing in my room while I am at work. I have already had two discussions with him about this, when I first moved in and recently when I came home and found my room wide open after I had closed and locked the door when I left for work that morning (at this time I gave my 30 days notice). I am a tenant-at-will, no lease, but I have receipts for the rent and utilities I have paid. Can I press charges in this situation?

Asked on 9/18/13, 12:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Riddle Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Charges for what? You can try, and the police will tell you it is a civil matter and to not waste their time again. The solution is to move.

Read more
Answered on 9/18/13, 12:57 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Georgia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now