Legal Question in Appeals and Writs in Illinois

Federal judge erred in granting a summary judgment to defendant because he determined that the case rested on Italian law yet failed to apply it. Defendant, a foreign corp. sued in a foreign jurisdiction claiming the lawsuit was frivolous and malicious. The foreign court lifted the corporate veil and the defendant obtained judgment, registered and executed against the owners personally. The owners Pro Se asked for relief under Rule 60 by bringing Italian law and affdavits by Italian law Professor and two Italian Lawyers. The Federal Court judge denied assuming 60(b)(2). Motion to Reconsider under 60(b)(6) denied w/o reason. Seventh District Court of Appeals denied on the ground that owner can not represent a corp. Pro Se. Motion for Continuance to find a lawyer was granted. LAWYER filed Motion for Rehearing en banc yet it was denied w/o explanation. On what basis can a Motion for Certiorari to the Supreme Court be filed? Is there another remedy?

Asked on 8/15/10, 4:56 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Burton Padove Indiana and Illinois Lawyer, Burton A. Padove
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your situation is far too complicated for this forum. Appeals are very complex and fact sensitive. Contact an appeals lawyer licensed before the U.lS. Supreme Court.

Read more
8/28/10, 9:44 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Appeals and Writs questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now