Illinois | Technology Law
Legal Question
We hired a programmer to help us write code for the back-end of a startup website. There were no written or signed contracts; everything was communicated verbally. Furthermore, it was established that there would be no cash compensation and the only form of compensation would be through equity (declared liquid). After the programmer had written a few blocks of code, he missed required deadlines and went on vacation. Although he has not been dismissed from the company formally, his lack of communication for the month thereafter suggested that he was no longer with us.
Later, once the company launched the product, the programmer contacted us and demanded a large sum of money for his work. He declared that he put in 60 hours of work into the project and billed us accordingly. However, one of the other partners of the company took the code that he had written (which, keep in mind, is very BASIC MySQL and PHP programming that anybody could accomplish after a few hours looking at tutorials online) and modified it heavily. The functionality of the original code now comprises only a very, VERY small portion of the production code, and the code was not copied verbatim.
He now plans to take retaliatory measures to "punish" us for our actions. On what legal basis does he have to hold a case against us in court?


