Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

Me and my husband have been married for 22 years. We have a Contract For Deed to purchase our home for the last 4 years. Both our names are on the contract. I have moved out of the house..planning on a divorce, but havent filed as of yet.

Am i entitled to half the value of the house or just half of what we have put in it so?

Can we write up an agreement that he keeps the house but if he decides to sell it, that i want half or am i gonna have to do that through court?

Asked on 4/11/13, 4:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

George Ellis The Ellis Law Firm
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Presumably, if the home was purchase during the marriage, it is a part of the marital property estate. If it was not purchased during the marriage, then a different result would obtain.

Read more
Answered on 4/11/13, 4:31 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now