Legal Question in Family Law in Illinois

My wife and I have been trying to adopt in Illinois but DCFS denied our license to foster due to my criminal record (burglary and arson, over 20 years ago). We were told by an adoption attorney we could do a private adoption but that we still needed a home study from an agency without DCFS and we have yet to find one. We were also told it might be possible to get a home study done through a private social worker but we didn't know if they would still have to go through background checks and DCFS. Do we have any options at all?

Asked on 6/24/13, 12:11 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Why don't you ask the adoption attorney?

Read more
7/04/13, 9:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now