Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Illinois

My town has a policy which allows homeowners to work on their own houses but if an inspection reveals that even one thing is not up to code, the homeowner is required to hire a licensed contractor to finish the work. The town will not issue permits for labor unless the homeowner signs a waiver agreeing to these terms.

I want to know if this is a legal practice and what I can do about it if it isn't a legal practice.

Asked on 5/21/13, 7:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

There is nothing wrong with this and is actually a good idea and compromise of competing issues.

Read more
5/22/13, 8:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Illinois

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8817 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now