Illinois | Wills and Trusts
11/08/09, 1:28 pm
Legal Question
If someone dies and does not have a will who gets to get his belongings legally?
If someone dies and does not have a will who gets to get his belongings legally?
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey R. Gottlieb |
Applicable state statute would determine who his heirs are and the proportions that they would share his estate. For example, if there is a surviving spouse and children then they would share 1/2 to spouse and 1/2 among children. It goes from there depending on the closest relatives that survived the decedent. It is all specifically proscribed by statute and not discretionary. |
|
Read More Answered By: Gregory Turza |
Part of the answer depends on what you mean by "belongings." This implies to me his personal property like furniture, jewelry and clothing. This will pass according to statute as Mr. Gottlieb summarized.
However, if financial accounts of any kind that belonged to the decedent are involved you will need to look first to the governing documents that were signed when the account was set up.
Feel free to visit www.legacylaws.com. |
St. Louis, MO
Questions Answered: 3776
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Moline, IL
Questions Answered: 2176
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago,
Questions Answered: 1259
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-22
Orlando, FL
Questions Answered: 1172
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-02
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 627
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-03-26
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 604
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-12
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 582
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 555
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Palatine, IL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Naples, FL
Questions Answered: 376
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-06-10
► If a relative has died and leaves a will that states "property left to existing...
► My mom passed away this year, four months after she passed my grandma died as well....
► My father died in 06, he left my son $100,000 in a trust fund with my sister as...
► What can i do if brother duped dad into signing a trust unknowingly, and now refuses...
► My brother passed away while still paying for his home, his girlfriend and son...
► My father committed suicide Sept. 16th, my sister is executor and he told me that I...
► Can a preliminary will be made official after a person is deceased? does the widow...
More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Illinois| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press