Are they allowed to call my parents if I am over 18?
I was in a bar and the cops came in. I received an MIP and blew a .087 on my breathalizer. She (the cop) asked for my information, and then turned around and walked out of the bar and to her car where she proceeded to call my Mom. She didn't ask my permission, and I am 20 years old. I thought that if you are over 18 they have to have your consent to contact your parents? Is this true or not?
1 Answer from Attorneys
Re: Are they allowed to call my parents if I am over 18?
By "they" you probably mean law enforcement officers. While an individual is a legal adult at 18 in this state, possession and consumption of alcoholic beverages are permitted to those 21 years of age or older. There is no specific statutory rule governing whether or not law enforcement officers must, or must not, call the parents of an individual under twenty-one years of age if that person is arrested for DUI. I believe that the answer is that officers can probably call the person's parents if they choose to do so.
Related Questions & Answers
Does she need an attorney ok i have a friend who was on a military base and was... Asked 6/05/03, 1:04 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Dui and prescription medication can you be charged with dui if you have a non-injury... Asked 9/06/02, 12:29 am in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Rules of Evidence regarding punitive damages If a defendant to a case was a drunk... Asked 3/14/01, 1:58 pm in United States Kansas Drunk Driving & DUI Law