Kentucky  |  Insurance Law

question bubble
4/27/07, 10:19 pm

Legal Question


Unfair business practice complaint against our home builder's insurance company?

Hi - We have been in an unfortunate situation, in that our home is coming apart. Largely this can be attributed to building code violations that were brought to our attention when we asked the state to come back and take a look at the home. The builder has basically ''blown us off'' which required us to get an attorney and file a formal complaint. We have finished arbitration, where our complaint about the code violations was ''affirmed'' by the arbitrator, but not specific remedy was given. The builder's attorney wants to do cosmetic repairs only, basically covering the construction flaws up. He also has stated that they will appeal any other remedy. My question is that since the building code violations are obvious and undeniable, can we file some kind of complaint against the insurance company for the builder? I should mentions that they have intentionally caused this process to last almost 3 years and we believe their strategy was to try and run us out of money so we would quit fighting this. What more can we do? People who have seen our home can't believe the builder didn't settle this immediately. We are a middle class family who has learned the hard way that justice is only for those who can afford it.

Thanks so much


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search