Legal Question in Criminal Law in Louisiana

my brother committed a crime, I think it was armed robbery and kidnapping, and he was sentenced to 35 years without the possibility of parole and must serve 85% of the time given, he has now served 15 years, what is the good time credit and is it applied to time served? I think that is excessive, people have murdered people and gotten less time, what do you think?

Asked on 8/11/13, 10:35 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Andrew Casanave Andrew M. Casanave
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The "must serve 85%" is your answer. A person convicted of a crime of violence, as that is defined in R.S. 14:2 has very limited "good time" opportunities.

Read more
8/11/13, 10:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Louisiana

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now