Louisiana  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/19/09, 3:52 pm

Legal Question


My mother owns her home and is asking our advice on doing a Reverse Mortgage and putting one sibling (there are 10 siblings) on the Mortgage. Do the other 9 have a right to expect an inheritance or share of the house, others are saying that the one who will be on the mortgage should give each of the other 9 siblings $2,500 which would be a reasonable share in the home. It's my mother's home, shouldn't she be able to do what she wants with the house, can't she will the house to one person or does she have to will the house to all 10 children equally?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search