Maryland | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Is it legal for walmart to force you to show a receipt upon exiting their store. I was recently detained for 30 minutes for not showing my receipt.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Paula McGill |
Stores can take reasonable actions to ensure that shoplifting does not occur. Having people show receipts right after they make a purchase and before they exit the store will probably be considered reasonable. So, the question is why didn't you show your receipt? The space between check out and the door is not that far? Did you lose it in between that time? Did you try to go back to the cashier to verify your purchase?
All these things need to be answered. However, if you failed to show your receipt to be obstinate, it is unlikely, that you have a case.
I am licensed in Maryland and have handled these type cases previously. If you need additional information, you can contact me at my Maryland contact information. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Wilks Law
Washington, Dc And, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-03-16
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Search Questions and Answers


