Maryland | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Freedom of Religion
I am a practitioner & teacher of an ancient spiritual discipline called 'Tantra', which among other things, teaches methods to raise sexual energy and transform it into spiritual experience through higher states of consciousness. Traditionally, this is often taught by a female adept, who may use sexual practices, including intercourse, along with non-sexual techniques, to evoke an experience in a male or female practitioner. Women who devoted their lives to this practice often lived in temples and were financially supported in some way by the clients and community they served. My question is, do current U.S. sex laws prohibit such an arrangement, and if so, how would one go about challenging the law on grounds of constitutional freedom of religion. Please indicate the appropriate court and manner of filing for such a claim, as well as organizations & resources I may refer to in pursuing this matter.


