Re: Judicial Checks and Balances
Part 1 of 2
Your question reflects a landmark decison.
The case is Marbury v. Madison (1803); you should run an internet search and read about it.
Numerous checks and balance exist on the judiciary. The judiciary can apply only those laws that the
legislature passes. The judiciary cannot creatively contravene the law as passed by elected representatives (e.g., Congress and state level delegates).
Where a law does not exist to address a matter and a true case or controversy exists, the judiciary is free to decide on the basis
of common law or set precedent under case law. Common law is similar in constraint to statutes as passed by Congress.
The judiciary is not permitted to render advisory opinions. So, even though there may be a matter that the courts may want to address, if there is no case or controversy, the judiciary
is not permitted to render a decision.
Congress can, at any time, pass a law which changes case law as established by the courts. And, if congress sees fit, it can change a law completely. But if the law that it passes is unconstitutional then it will not be
legally effective.
Judges can be removed from office through impeachment. Judicial disabilities apply to discipline judges who act outside of the law.
The court is restricted by its own enforcement of precedent. And, erroneous decisions can be overturned through appeal. Also,
legislative acts can overturn a court decision (however this is seldom done).
The enforcement of laws is largely left to the Senate since, in a manner of speaking, it decides how much is to be spent for a law that
is passed. If little funding is provided the law is without teeth. Even though the judiciary may want to decide matters under the law, it cannot
do so where no enforcement is made.
The courts cannot act as an inquisitory body (with the exception of grand juries). Ours is an advesarial system and, unless a matter is brought to the court by one
of the opposing parties, the court cannot, of its own inititive, bring a matter forth.
Joe Holthaus (410) 799-9002