Maryland | Construction Law
Legal Question
Lien Law
I am the office manager of a deck and fence company in Maryland. I am searching for information on liens to put on customers homes for unpaid balances. Do you have any websites that I can research that you reccomend?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Eugene Policastri |
Re: Lien Law www.mdlandrec.net It will provide you with ownership information and lot descriptions. As you may know, in Maryland, no lien can be established without a circuit court entering an order establishing a lien. The procedure is to file a petition to establish and enforce mechanics liens no later than 180 days after the last date of work performed or materials delivered. The court will then set a hearing date about 45 days out in which the homeowner will have to challenge the lien or show cause why an interlocutory lien should not be established. This interlocutory lien is not final - then the court will set a trial date no later than six months out for a full trial - and if you win, then the lien is established.
This is not something you should do on your own without counsel.
Depending on the amounts of the unpaid balances, it may make more sense to file a complaint in District Court.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Chung & Press, P.C.
Mclean, VA
Questions Answered: 2361
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Bar Adon Vogel PLLC
Washington, Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-25
Joseph Greenwald & Laake Pa
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Search Questions and Answers


