Maryland | Consumer Law
Legal Question
Shoplifting
What is the state shoplifting law in Maryland?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: Shoplifting Shoplifting can involve civil remedy. This generally is brought by the shopkeeper and may or may not accompany the criminal charges. In some cases the alleged shoplifter may have civil remedy where illegal detention occurs, this is not usually the case.
Property crimes apply to sentencing guidelines and determine the outcome upon conviction of a criminal charge. In order to obtain a conviction there must be evidence of removal of property from a premises without payment where the property is being sold for value.
The state has the obligation to bring forth the charges and prove the case. You should speak to an attorney if you face criminal charges.
Joe Holthaus (410) 799-9002 |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Paula McGill Attorney at Law
Bethesda, MD
Questions Answered: 577
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Bar Adon Vogel PLLC
Washington, Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 79
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-09-25
Bromberg, Rosenthal, LLP
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-02-09
Akin-Deko & Puig PLLC
Washington Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Search Questions and Answers


