Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/07/05, 11:11 am

Legal Question


Legal Responsibility to pay

Does a general contractor on a construction project have a legal responsibility to make sure its subcontractors and their subcontractors are paid for their services? - We were hired to provide crane service by one company, who was hired by the general contractor on the project and we are not able to locate our customer so we turned to the general contractor on the project for help with collections or for payment, they offered us an amount that we felt was not sufficient to cover our expenses and we rejected the offer in writing. The general contractor responded in writing and rescinded their previous offer and is not willing to offer any money to us at this point. Is there anything we can do to recover any money?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search