Maryland  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
10/12/05, 9:44 pm

Legal Question


statue of limitations

Today I received a collection notice, when I called to inquire about this, I was told it was for a phone card that I last made a payment on in September 1996. They told me that this was billed in Maryland, which I lived in from January to April 1996.

I can't say if I used the phone card and did owe the money, but if I had ever received a bill I would have paid it. This is the first I have recieved any notice of this debt.

Is there a statue of limitations in which they can collect this, and if there is has it passed?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search