Maryland  |  Family Law

question bubble
6/12/08, 2:58 pm

Legal Question


Legal Guardianship of a Minor

My wife and I are former Peace Corps Volunteers. We served in the Federated States of Micronesia where we lived with and became close friends with a local family. We have now decided, with the family's consent, that 2 of the children are going to come to the U.S. and live with us and go to school. The school district in Maryland (Anne Arundel County) requires us to become legal guardians. I have looked for information online for filing for legal guardianship and have not been able to find anything relevant to the county. The other issue is that the parents live in Micronesia and will not at anytime be in the United States. The parents; however, are in full agreement with the children living with us and becoming legal guardians.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search