Re: Formula for Pain, Suffering & Inconvenience
There is no law requiring payment of pain and suffering in any particular amount (though those seeking pain and suffering do sometimes use 2x-3x medicals as a rough guide where such is appropriate).
If the injury was serious enough to require medical treatment, you should consider having the matter evaluated by a competant attorney. The insurance company adjusters are trained specifically to settle cases -- laypersons are not. Hence, most laypeople do better if their settlement is negotiated by a competant and respected attorney.
The same goes for the automobile negligence case that you reference. If the other driver was at fault and there were injuries that required medical attention, then you should at least have the case evaluated by a competant attorney.
Naturally, I would be happy to evaluate your matters if you like. Please check my firm's website www.jgllaw.com and you will see that we are one of the premier suburban maryland firms, particularly in the area of plaintiff's litigation of major claims.
Lawrence R. Holzman, Esquire
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
6404 Ivy Lane, Suite 400
Greenbelt, MD 20770
(301) 220-2200
fax (301) 220-1214
Disclaimer: Please note that the posting of this response is not intended to constitute legal advice. You should contact an attorney to obtain information applicable to your situation. This posting is not confidential or privileged and does not create an attorney/client relationship.