Maryland | Employment Law
Legal Question
Employer wants a doctor note for 1 day off
I took a day off work today for a sore throat. It is the 1st time in 7 months employment I have taken a day off for illness. My office manager called me this afternoon and said that she took it upon herself to tell our employer that I was going to the doctor and now our employer wants me to bring a doctor's note on Monday morning. I did not go to the doctor, nor did I say that I was when I called in. Anyway, I don't think my employer has a right to demand I bring proof of going to a doctor, which I did not. I have no health benefits through this employer. Am I required to go pay a doctor in order to give my employer a doctor's note?


