Maryland  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
4/29/05, 1:51 pm

Legal Question


Breaking of lease

I am currently renting a house with 4 other people, all of whom have signed a

lease guarenteeing our landlord payment of $2400 per month. However one

of the tenants has now decided that she wants to break the lease because of

some flooding in the basement (which the landlord is taking care of). She has

moved out of our house but now refuses to pay her portion of the rent. Our

landlord has informed us that if he doesn't receive the remainder of the

money that he will take us each to court. We have tried reasoning with said

person numerous times and she still refuses to pay. The only logical solution

we can think of is to pay this month's rent and then take her to court for the

money as well as the next two month's rent. My question is that if we were to

take her to court, what is the likelihood that the judge will rule in our favor?

Before getting ourselves involved in litigation I'd like to know whether it will

be worth it to take her to court for the money.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search