Maryland  |  Landlord & Tenant Law

question bubble
6/16/06, 12:21 pm

Legal Question


i have been renting to own a house the owners are now filing bankruptys

i have been renting to own a house for 4 years. When the agreement was made the owners had a mortage of 40,000. My buying price was $70,000. They had me sign a rent w/ buy option agreement, in the 4 years i have paid $22,750.00 off on the house. Now they are filing for bankruptsy. I just found out they took a second mortage out on the house 2 years ago and they still owe the bank 70,000. for the house. They say that the document they had me sign was never made legal and i have no rights. i have every rent receipt with my balance at the bottom. I have also heard that verbal agreements were lawbinding in Maryland. Do i have any rights, and should i seek legal help?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search