Maryland | Landlord & Tenant Law
Legal Question
Wrongfully charged for ''pet damage''?
I just received an invoice from an apartment I recently moved out from. I have one cat who I paid $25/month for as well as an initial $300 deposit. The bill I received has a $600 charge for replacement of carpet and a $350 charge for pet treatment. When I asked the complex to explain they stated that the pet damage was so severe that the carpet had to be replaced and they even had to treat the walls! I know that my pet NEVER soiled the carpet and I am unsure on how my pet could climb the walls to urinate. Is what they're doing legal? Do I have to pay for all of these fees?


