Maryland  |  Medical Malpractice

question bubble
5/14/08, 8:07 pm

Legal Question


Faulty endoscopy equipment/possible exposure?

I'm not sure what to do or if I should even seek legal help but my husband had a broncoscopy two months ago. Last week his doctor called him up and told him they had a problem with the scope used (said the scope had a tear in it) and he was exposed to whatever the other patients it was used on had. They won't give us any more information and said they will send us a letter explaining everything but we still haven't gotten a letter. When he called them back wanting to know what he could have been exposed to they brushed him off and said they didn't know. He is really worried and has gone to another doctor to get blood tests for hiv, hepatitis, etc. It seems the hospital and doctors do not want to tell us anything and we don't know what to do. My husband had a lung transplant last year and he is afraid they could have infected him with something. Of course we have no clue since they don't seem to want to talk to us. What can we do to get some answers? I think the hospital should at least pay for his bloodwork and follow up tests.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search