Maryland | Medical Malpractice
Legal Question
malpractice
Is there a time limit on how long you have to file malpractice case?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: G. Joseph Holthaus III |
Re: malpractice Yes. Generally the time limit is three years. The three years begins when you knew or should have known, by the reasonable person standard, that you had a cause of action. There are several exceptions to this rule.
If the person is a minor the limitation period is, in most cases, age 21. The period extends prior to age 18 is certain cases.
There is also an exception for continuing care which essentially is where occurence of medical malpractice is not specific to a date.
Medical malpractice is a significant legal matter and if you believe harm has been caused then contact an attorney immediately. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Arden Law Firm
Crownsville, MD
Questions Answered: 428
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Chung & Press, P.C.
Cumberland, MD
Questions Answered: 103
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-05
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Dunlap, Grubb & Weaver, PLLC
Leesburg, VA
Questions Answered: 95
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-20
Law Offices of Joseph A. Trevino
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 86
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-09-20
Joseph Greenwald & Laake Pa
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 72
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Search Questions and Answers


