Re: passenger collision death compensation for spouse
Please accept my sympathy for your great and many losses.
It is important that you seek qualified assistance during your time of need.
This is a very important matter and you should not expect the various insurance companies to
assist you or pay out a satisfactory settlement.
Your question indicates that you have been told that your wife is at fault. Unless she was not wearing a seat
belt or otherwise contributed to the collision, your wife, as a passenger, is not at fault. Your mother is almost certainly at fault.
The other driver may or may not be at fault based on the circumstances and facts.
Although it will be emotionally draining and quite difficult, the case as stated would involve legal action against your mother's insurer. Bringing action
against her insurer has ramifications that should be discussed. You likely have recovery against your own policy through an underinsured claim (where your policy limits are higher than your mother's and, if applicable, the other driver's policy) and you may be able to recover against the other
driver's policy (based on whether there was any negligence on the other driver's part). Caution is in order as underinsured claims require a specific process that, if not properly pursued, can result in significantly compromising your ability to recover.
The claims generally will not cancel each other. You will be able to recover to the extent of your damages (which are significant). You will not be able to collect more than once for any specific loss. This is relatively complicated and should be discussed in person.
The facts of your case are very serious and you should contact an attorney to discuss the various issues.
I am experienced with personal injury through automobile collision and my contingency fee cannot be beat by the larger firms. I am available to provide you with quality service at a reasonable fee.
G. Joseph Holthaus (410) 799-9002 (office) and (410) 619-5918 (voicemail)